//
you're reading...
Knitting Patterns

I’m still here!

I’m still here!

I started this blog because several people had asked me for copies of my Cat and Rat Scarf patterns and it seemed the ideal way to post patterns. I am amazed at the number of folk, many are fellow Ravellers, who take the trouble to leave comments, all (so far) positive and encouraging.

Are all creative folk as kind & encouraging? I like to think so!

It was also intended to be an outlet for some of my photographs & musings but I had no idea how hard it would to find the time to learn how to blog effectively and the inspiration to keep up with it and it’s been a quiet year for me hence – no posts!

The little lump I mentioned last March was skin cancer (a BCC); I had it removed by Moh’s procedure a few weeks later and patched with a skin graft taken from just in front of my ear. Well done NHS!

It has been a good year for lots of experimenting with my knitting. Is there a limit to the number of variations of patterns for fingerless gloves? Can one have too many pairs? No and no!

Here are some:

These are my own design and are called Gathering Peascods after a traditional country dance. They are worked on two needles from the top down with the thumbs on the outsides and seamed with a row of double crochet (UK). They were a Christmas gift and I suspect they are worn out already.

Before and after joining seams

I have got to grips (!) with double pointed needles at last and these Diamonds were the first, why I made such a complicated design as my first dpn venture I really don’t know but they look fine when worn – so my daughter tells me!

I also learned a method of Stretchy Cast On posted on Youtube by scarletzebra http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=JAaOQb03wec#!

and Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Cast Off  http://knitty.com/ISSUEfall09/FEATjssbo.php

both of which are perfect for fingerless gloves of all sorts.

I progressed onto hats, matching berets and fingerless gloves like these:

The FGs are based on Spatterdash by Dagmar Mora and the Tam based on Reverie by Amy Swenson. The yarn is Schoppel-Wolle Zauberball Stärke 6 in Indian Rose

and these which are made with Colinette Jitterbug in Nocturne. The FGs are based on Malabrigo Hand Thingies by Anne Sahakian and the Tam – the One Day Beret by Kirsten Kapur.

I also combined straight and dpn when I designed Pirate FGs for various male members of my family. These were based around  the Skull & Crossbones chart from pattyspatterns. I will post the pattern on a separate page when I have time.

Thank you for reading.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I’m still here!

  1. Thank you, My “Belle” lives again.Much to the displeasure of my family.But my #3 Grandson has taken her,to be loved & cuddled,much to her dislike ,of cuddles. How do I post pictures of her,please. Sorry to be so ignorant.I am very happy with the results.I have embroidered some & shaped her face.The eyes have been felted behind & the face stuffed to give bone structure.Only, I cant get her to purr again,Alas, I do miss her so much.Even thou she wasn’t a friendly cat,.But she was mine & I loved her so.

    Posted by yvonne | October 4, 2013, 10:11 am
    • Thank you for your comments. It’s odd how we can love our unfriendly cats, they have such personality! I can’t help you with posting pictures I’m afraid. Do you use Flickr or are you on Ravelry, those sites can help.

      Posted by FIFALDE | October 4, 2013, 11:23 am

Leave a Reply

